ST. MARY'S COUNTY GOVERNMENT DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN SERVICES

Cynthia A. Brown, Interim Director

COMMISSION FOR WOMEN

Norma Pipkin, Chair



BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Francis Jack Russell, President Lawrence D. Jarboe, Commissioner Cynthia L. Jones, Commissioner Todd B. Morgan, Commissioner Daniel L. Morris, Commissioner

Commission for Women Meeting Minutes December 2010

The December meeting was held at DB McMillians Restaurant on December 7, 2010. The following members were present: Juanita Nether, Marta Kelsey, Rev. Meredith Wilkins- Arnold, and Krisanne Bentley. Jamillah Thomas, Patricia Friend, Connie Clausen and Norma Pipkin. Also in attendance were Stephanie Figeroux and Lynn Fitrell. Gretchen Hardman and Denise Krumenacker were absent.

Since this was also the holiday party the meeting was short. Members discussed the contributions that were collected for the Veteran's Home. Krisanne took the items to make arrangements with Denise for the distribution.

The second item of business was a letter to Dr. Martirano, Superintendent of Schools, to request that the school system incorporate healthy relationships as part of the focus for next year. The letter that was written was revised. Marta Kelsey moved that revised version of the letter be mailed to Dr. Martirano, with a cc to the Board of Education. The motion was seconded and carried.

Our representative to the Family Violence Coordinating Council, Krisanne Bentley, will share the letter with the members at the next meeting and ask for a letter of support.

The meeting was adjourned and members enjoyed dinner and gift exchange.

Minutes prepared and submitted by Norma Pipkin